ASCI Metaverse Meetings

Registering to Join

Next meeting on the last Sunday of this month
normally it's at 10:00 am PST, 1:00 pm EST, 18:00 GMT, 21:00 MSK, 23:30 IST, but during
Daylight Savings it's at 10:00 am PDT, 1:00 pm EDT, 17:00 GMT, 21:00 MSK, 22:30 IST

ASCI sign in Quat Gallery
Of the many worlds in the Metaverse, the one we'll be meeting at...
lounge area in Quat Gallery
is 3-dimensional, interactive, real-time,
media screens in Quat Gallery
full spectrum, high definition,
bar area in Quat Gallery
and popular with artists,
pale Infinity's gallery in Quat
who make and sell digital sculpture,
Princeton University SL campus
and with educators,
Stanford University SL Libraries
who are interested in remote education,
NASA's SL Space Island
and with scientists and technologists,
NASA SL Astrobiology Institute
who are interested in digital modeling & conferencing.
Quat Gallery, Quat SIM
ASCI will be meeting in a SIM (simulation) named Quat, in a cyber world called Second Life (SL).

ASCI meetings are many things: a "discussion forum," and a collaborative idea-sharing space, the opportunity to meet potential collaborators for projects, to making art in cyberspace and sharing it with a targeted art-sci-tech audience.

The ASCI Membership is very diverse. Some folks might just be "idea people" but want to share, others might be art-makers but not interested in collaborating... just showing their recent 3-D gismo/etc. in a 3-D digital creative space. Some scientist members might be too busy to actually collaborate but they might silently follow a collab project and then "offer a suggestion/idea" that might improve the design or provide different perspectives to think about.

If you're ready to find out what ASCI Metaverse Meetings can be for you, begin by registering: Go to www.SecondLife.com. You can register as a Basic member, for free. (Note: only one free membership is allowed per IP address.)


Go to www.SecondLife.com.

Click on Join Now in the upper right corner.


Choose an avatar.

First you're asked to choose a look for your avatar. Don't spend a lot of time on this, because later you can try any of these, and an infinite number of other possible appearances.



Choose a user name.

The most difficult part of registration is selecting your avatar's login name. Other details, such as your avatar's appearance, gender, and even your screen name can be changed later.

Hint: If you want the name "John," but it's taken, you might then try "Jon," or "Johnny." Using numbers, such as "John123," is not recommended because (unlike an e-mail address), other avatars are actually going to call you by your avatar name, and avatars with memorable, non-numeric names tend to be more successful in the Metaverse.

Better to try: "MrJohn," or "DrJohn," or even, "SirJohn," or "KingJohn." (Note: in Second Life you really can role play royalty, if you're willing to spend Linden dollars to buy yourself a cyber castle- the Metaverse isn't just all work and no play!) Names taken from literature, or mythology are also popular, e.g. "Hamlet," "Beowulf," etc. Some people just run their real life first and last names together, "JohnDoe," or if that's taken, "SirJohnDoe," etc.


Your age determines if you may enter adult regions.


Finally you're asked for your e-mail, your age, and a security question. Click "Create Account," when you're finished. Check your e-mail for a confirmation link. Click on that link, and attempt to register. Then click on one of the links below to continue.


I was not able to create an account,
now I need help using SL "Help."

I was able to create an account,
now I'm ready to download the viewer.


Register | Download | Viewer | Finding ASCI | Transcripts
http://slurl.com/secondlife/Quat/137/88/54/

Second Life® and Linden Lab® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Linden Research, Inc.
All rights reserved. No infringement is intended.
Join Second Life now.